Executive Board

The Executive Board is responsible for establishing university policy and coordinating the daily management of the university of applied sciences within the framework of the long-term policy plans. The Executive Board of The Hague University of Applied Sciences comprises, Leonard Geluk (Chair), Hans Camps (Member) and Susana Menéndez (Member).

Profiles members and Chairman

L.K. (Leonard) Geluk, Chairman of the Executive Board

L.K.  (Leonard) Geluk LL.M., has been Chair of the Executive Board at The Hague University of Applied Sciences since 1 April 2014. He graduated with a degree in Constitutional and Administrative Law from the Erasmus University Rotterdam. Immediately after graduation, he began working as a member of the CDA group staff in the Province of South Holland and as a legal expert for the Dutch Protestant School Boards' Council, later taken over by the Dutch Parents’ Association for Protestant Education and Upbringing (Ouders & COO). From 1996 to 2004, he worked as a consultant, first at Deloitte, later at Arthur Andersen Business Consulting and Organise to Learn. From 2004 to 2009, he was the Alderman for Youth & Education in Rotterdam, which he combined with the position of Child and Adolescent Welfare Portfolio Administrator in the Rotterdam Metropolitan Region from 2006 onwards. In addition to Youth & Education, he was also the Integration Portfolio Administrator from 2004 to 2006. From September 2009 to March 2014, he was Chairman of the Executive Board for the Central Netherlands Regional Education and Training Centre, a school specialising in senior secondary vocational education in the Province of Utrecht.

Additional positions

  • Member of the Audit Committee of the The Netherlands Association of Universities of Applied Sciences
  • Member of the Investment Board Metropolitan Region Rotterdam - The Hague
  • Member of the Advisory Board of One Young World The Hague 2018
  • Member of the Steering Group Health-Holland, Topsector Life Sciences & Health
  • Member of the Monitoring Committee for Good Governance in Senior Secondary Vocational Education
  • Member of the Programme Advisory Committee for the Prinsjesfestival 2016
  • Member of the Triple-Helix Coordination Advisory Committee Medical Delta (THC) 2016
  • Member of the Economic Programme Advisory Committee for South Wing
  • Member of The Hague Security Delta
  • Chair of the Board of The Hague Academic Coalition (HAC)

Board Secretary Monique Bugter, +31(0)70 - 445 89 55

M.S. (Susana) Menéndez, Member

After graduating with a law degree in Buenos Aires (Argentina), Susana Menéndez graduated cum laude from the University of Amsterdam and obtained her doctorate from the University of Leiden, where her research focused on gender studies. She then held various positions in higher education, including at the University of Amsterdam, the Erasmus University of Rotterdam and the Institute of Social Studies. After working for a short period for the Municipality of Amsterdam, she began working in 2001 at the Ichthus Hogeschool (as Director of the Social Work Unit for Rotterdam and The Hague). In her role as Director of ASAR (Institute of Advanced Studies & Applied Research) at the Hogeschool INHolland, she was responsible for the school’s research, Master’s and internationalisation policy, as well as for applying for national and international subsidies. She has been a member of the Executive Board since 1 April 2008.

Additional positions

  • Member of Internationalisation Steering Committee (Netherlands Association of Universities of Applied Sciences)
  • Member of IT and Education Steering Committee (Netherlands Association of Universities of Applied Sciences)
  • Member of ECHO’s (Dutch expertise centre for diversity policies in higher educational offices) Board, on behalf of higher professional education
  • Member of the Council of Representatives ICT & Education, SURF
  • Member of the Board at E-merge, a collaboration between IT & Education
  • Member of G5 — Conference of Randstad Universities of Applied Sciences
  • Member of the International Excecutive Board EAN - European Access Network
  • Member of the National Committee on the Code of Conduct for Higher Education (on behalf of the university of applied sciences)
  • Member of Immigration & Integration Advisory Committee at the Dutch Council for Refugees

Board Secretary Grace Hicks, +31(0)70 - 445 88 11

Mr. drs. H.G.L.M. (Hans) Camps, member

Hans CampsMr. drs. H.G.L.M. (Hans) Camps joined the Executive Board at The Hague University of Applied Sciences on 1 December 2017. Hans studied Political Science and Dutch Law at Radboud University Nijmegen. Until 1998, he worked as a general manager in Berlin, consultant in Breda and controller for The Hague judicial district. From 1998 to 2001, he served as the director for that same judicial district and later on for the Municipality of Delft. From 2004, he served as the municipal secretary/managing director of the Municipality of Delft and, from 2011, has been a member of the Executive Board of our neighbours, the ROC Mondrian in The Hague, an institution for secondary vocational training in the Haaglanden region. In terms of organisational size and student population, the school is somewhat smaller than The Hague University of Applied Sciences. At the ROC Mondriaan, Hans had administrative responsibility for business operations, quality assurance and a number of senior secondary vocational education schools.

Additional positions

  • Chairman of the Stichting GlasLokaal Executive Board
  • Member of the Stanislascollege Delft Board of Trustees

Board Secretary Haidy van Faassen-Bernard,  +31(0)70 – 445 88 12

Division of Tasks of the Executive Board

Leonard GelukSusana MenéndezHans Camps 

External stakeholders
Human Resources Management Policy
Communication and Marketing
Student Affairs and Alumni Policy

Education & Internationalisation
Research & Innovation
Quality Assurance

Financial Policy

Planning & Control Information Technology

Redesign Organisation

Department Facilities Management

Faculty of Public Management, Law & Safety

Academy for Master’s & Professional Courses

Faculty of Health, Nutrition & Sport

Faculty of Management Organisation

Faculty of Technology, Innovation & Society

Research Platform Quality of Life

Research Platform Connected Learning 

Onderwijsberaad (Education
Consultation) , SOR and SOI

Faculty of Social Work

Faculty of IT & Design

Faculty of Business, Finance & Marketing

Research Platform The Next Economy 

Board Office
The HRM Department

EK&C Department

Business Administration & Control Department

Facilities & IT Department